👩‍💻 Hacker Groups

Black hat, Grey hat and White hat hackers.

There are three types of hacker groups. White, Grey and Black. The white hat hacker is the most ethical and black hat is the most un-ethical.

White hat hacker

A white hat hacker is an ethical hacker, or a security expert who specialises in penetration testing and other testing methodologies to ensure the security of an organisations information system.

For example:

  • Those individuals who perform security assessments within a contractual agreement.
  • Find exploits in operating systems
  • Software and hardware
  • Websites and web applications
  • Networks
  • Physical defences
  • Human assets

Grey hat hacker

Computer hacker who violates laws or typical ethical standards, but does now have malicious intent.

For example: Looking for issues without the owners permission or knowledge. If any issues are found, they report them to the owner, sometimes requesting a small fee to fix the problem.

Black hat hacker

A black hat hacker is a hacker that violates computer security for their own personal profit or out of malice.

For example:

  • They’re unauthorised
  • Breach — Computer Misuse Act 1990
  • Criminal
  • Financial gain
  • Malicious intent
  • Theft of information

Non Compliance

There can be different punishments for internal and external.

  • Loss of job
  • Disciplinary
  • Restricted access
  • Demotion
  • Loss of earning External:
  • Fine
  • Imprisonment
  • Court order/injunction
  • Expelled from a professional
  • Reputational damage



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store